Home » anxiety » Phriday Philosophy 10/1/10

Phriday Philosophy 10/1/10

What’s Your Point?

The question niggling at my brain this morning is something that I wonder about, off and on, depending on my mood. 

Just exactly what is the point?

You know, the point.  To all of it.  Life, the universe, everything.  And yes, I know that the ultimate answer is “42”.  I love Douglas Adams.  For a long time, I wanted to be a Hitchhiker out in the galaxy, had my towel all laid out and ready.  but no Vogons ever stopped by to destroy the planet, so I never got my chance.

Actually, when I stop to think about it, we are all hitchhikers out there in the galaxy, bumming a ride on the Ship called Earth, floating through the universe with places to go, things to do.  And I have lots of towels at my house. 

ANYWAY *digression sigh*

I’ve heard a lot of theories in my search for the answer. 

*That we’re just tiny pieces of the universe, trying to figure itself out

*That God has a plan, but chooses not to share

*That there is no plan, but that we’re all out here, just flailing like fish stuck on shore, desperately trying to get back to the water

*That we’re an accident of nature/science, and someday it’ll be another species running the planet.  Better.

*That we were seeded here by aliens, looking for a way to spread themselves out among the stars, and someday they’ll come back for their children.

Honestly?  I don’t really know.  None of us do, not for sure. 

The human race has survived as long as it has by constant struggle.  We have fought for millenia to get to where we are now, opposable thumbs and all.  And whether you believe in creationism, or in evolution, you can’t deny that the human race, as a whole, is smarter, faster, better equipped, than we were in, say, the Dark Ages. 

But, are we really any better off?

My mood took a sudden downshift while writing this morning, due to some parenting stress.  Murphy’s law took over, and just as I thought we were coming out a step ahead, he conked me on the head, threw me in his trunk, and dumped me in the desert. 

I’ll keep struggling, because I know that this is only temporary.  Life, the universe and everything.  It’s not forever, you know.  So you may as well get on with it.

And the next person that asks me “Why?” is going to get this answer:

“Why the hell not?  I’ve got nothing better to do.”

6 thoughts on “Phriday Philosophy 10/1/10

  1. I believe that there is a plan and a purpose, but that is my personal upbringing. It’s always fun to lay out on the grass at night and gaze up at the stars. I love doing that. I love thinking about how big and endless the sky is, and how amazing Earth is and nature. Don’t you just love nature? Anyway. Babbling.

    • LOL, babble away, no worries. And this is my favorite season for nature. Warm sunlight, cool nights, frosty mornings, crunchy leaves, and the tang of smoke in the air. mmmmzzzzzzzz……………………

  2. I have no answer, and Id be lying if I said my mind didnt wander there every once in a while. But in the grand scheme of things, I prefer to wait and find out, no reason to ruin the ending. Its like spoiling a good book, or a great movie.

    Though when I first saw the quotation “So what’s your point?” I had something of a bad flashback to the beginning of my design career. It was a question many of my peers loathed with a passion when ever someone critiqued one of their projects.

Leave a Reply

