Home » daydreaming » Tuesday Theology

Tuesday Theology

I am not normally a person that spouts about my religion a lot.  I have my own views on what I believe, and I never expect anyone else to follow, or subscribe to the same.  What works for me, and keeps my faith chugging along will probably not work for the woman that sits next to me at work, or my children, my husband, or anyone else on the planet.  So, what I’m going to talk about today is strictly my own viewpoint.

As we get closer to Samhain (Halloween), the veil between this world and the next gets very thin, allowing us to interact with the other side, and allowing them to slide back and forth, visiting.  It’s a mysterious, powerful, spiritual time of year for me, and for many Pagans.  This subject is on my mind this year for more than one reason.

Reincarnation.

My nephew and I were discussing reincarnation the other night on the phone.  He’d been having some disturbing recurring dreams, and was looking for my insight, or at least some comforting words to help explain. 

He was dreaming about his mother, who passed away in 2009.  He was talking to her, as were others in our family, and he couldn’t understand how we could all be talking, hugging, etc.   She would turn and  tell him that she was alive and well, not dead at all – and what was his problem? 

He was confused, in the dream, and woke up disoriented and jumbled.  It had been bothering him, as this dream would not seem to go away, but would come again and again, night after night.  So, I told him what I believe.

I believe that, when our souls are young, they root themselves in the Summerland (the pagan version of “Heaven”) like an anchor.  This is the whole of our being, all of our experiences, everything we see, feel, learn, know is tied here for all time.

When we are ready for something “new”, we send out a portion of this consciousness, and we “incarnate” into a human form of our own choosing.  We decide what we want to learn about, rather like choosing college courses, and a map is laid out for us.  We then are “Born” into this incarnation, all the while being tethered like a balloon to that anchor in the Summerland.

We go through the experiences that are on our road map of life, learning the lessons we chose, and at the end, when our time here is done, the balloon “pops”, we pass over the veil once more, and end up back at our Soul Anchor to process what we’ve seen, heard, felt, learned. 

This, I told my nephew, would allow him to interact with his mother’s “Soul Anchor” and allow her to have been reincarnated into a new life.  I believe that she has returned for her next life of choice. 

As for me, next time on “The Life is Right”, I hope to be able to continue helping people.  But I guess I won’t know that till I see what courses are offered.  I know that death is not the end, and I’m content to wait my turn.  I’ve still got a lot to do here and now.

8 thoughts on “Tuesday Theology

  1. Very well written. I have no doubt that you will continue to help people in this lifetime and for ages to come. 🙂 Have a great day Brea!

  2. Hey, thanks for sharing something so personal. Religion is a hard topic, especially when it comes to the blogosphere. People are easily offended. Even though I believe differently than you, I love to learn. I was actually telling someone about Samhain the other day, because they had no idea where Halloween comes from. I think learning about different religions is beneficial, and I think more people ought to try it. 🙂

    • Thanks! I’ve always been of the mind that religion is ultimately and inseparably personal. Even people that share a faith like Catholic, Lutheran, Buddhist, Muslim, Wiccan, etc., everyone experiences the divine in their own individual way. I also like to learn about different faiths, and find the history of beliefs fascinating. (Total research geek)

  3. Interesting. I’ve always been fascinated by religion, have spent time learning about most of them, Wicca however I have to plead ignorance. I think what I know of it comes more from the folks who would persecute it rather that those who practice, sad to say I didnt’ realize that until I read your blog. This post has started to change my paradigm. Might have to learn more.

    • Thanks. I’m such a research junkie, and one of the things that I’ve learned is that most religions have at least one thing in common. There is always a higher power that we can go to for solace in the dark times. It’s helped me to accept some of my family’s religious choices, and I’m hoping that using this line of logic, it’ll help some of my family to accept my choices as well.

Leave a Reply

