Home » blogging » Brea, The Feral Dandelion

Brea, The Feral Dandelion

Every year, about this time, I start thinking about what the true meaning of Thanksgiving is.  I contemplate our land’s history, how Thanksgiving got its start, and what does it stand for, anyway?  And I get all wound up over origins.

You see, I’m a feral species.

Not in the eat-your-face-off-on-a-whim type of feral, but in the my-people-are-not-from-here-originally type of feral.

My Dad is Austrian by blood.  His family emigrated here, loooong time ago, and settled in Iowa.  My Mom is Norwegian/Swedish.  Her family emigrated too, loooong time ago, and settled in Minnesota. 

So, technically, my people are not related to the people that lived here when all the madness started back with the Pilgrims.  Then again, going back even further, the people living here when the Pilgrims got here weren’t truly native to the land either, they emigrated from elsewhere too.  Some historians say they took the long way, from Asia, across the land bridge, through Canada and on down to the good ole USA.  I don’t know, I wasn’t there. 

*deep breath for long segue* ANYWAY, That means that no one living on the continent of North America really has roots that go allllllll the way back to the dawn of time.  So, if everyone that lives here now, was introduced to this country at some point, then there really are no people that are native to the land.  We’re all feral introduced species, living on borrowed ground.

Much like dandelions.

Dandelions are thought to have evolved about thirty million years ago in Eurasia; they have been used by humans for food and as a herb for much of recorded history. They were introduced to North America by early European immigrants. * source-Wikipedia*

 But, and here’s where things get a little sticky for me – Dandelions have been around for so long, that people don’t know anymore that they’re on introduced thing, that came here in some other guy’s pocket, on a boat, from overseas.

They’re just a part of this country now.  They’re a deep-rooted species that belongs to our dirt here now.

So, when does a feral species truly become native to the land?

This Thanksgiving has seen me thankful for a lot of things.  I try to be grateful all year long, and not put it off till November, practically the end of the year, and try to show my gratitude by paying back or paying forward when I can.

But one of the things that I’m most thankful for, is the right and the ability to be able to say it.

Here.

Now.

With new friends and old.

Thank you.  I appreciate it.

Happy Holidays.

With love and wishes for you all ~ Brea, the Feral Dandelion

8 thoughts on “Brea, The Feral Dandelion

  1. Happy Thanksgiving -my Dandelion Friend! Have a safe and warm holiday week. (Still wearing shorts down here today….just wanted to throw that out there….) 🙂

  2. Love the analogy…wish everyone could see we are AMERICANS. We all have our colorful heritage to be proud of, but we all belong. BTW…I too am feral and I am the eat-your-face-off-on-a-whim type of feral. ; )

    • Thank you so much, Regan. This whole weird ride started for me almost a year ago, last December, and it’s just gotten better and better as time passes. I’ve met so many wonderful people in this last year through the blogosphere, and I’m so thankful that you’re among them!

  3. My grandparents came here from Ireland and got their citizenship and proudly became Americans. And because of them I’m 100 percent proudly American.

Leave a Reply

