Home » blogging » Yule & Christmas

Yule & Christmas

Yule – December 21st.  Winter Solstice.

Christmas – December 24-25.

People ask me all the time why I do so many “Christmassy” things if this is not my holiday?  Well, that’s because there are a lot more similarities between the 2 holidays than most people realize.

And no, I’m not going to play the blame game, saying that ancient Christians stole this tradition or that one.  It is what it is today because of an amalgamation of things.  Traditions over the years have gotten intertwined so much that no one really knows what started where, not for sure. It’s pointless to start flinging blame when the whole point of the season is one of  joy and goodwill.

Yule- Celebration of the birth of the Son who will become the God.  Our holidays have a cyclical nature, following the seasons and what we call the Wheel of the Year.  Yule sits at the top of that Wheel, as it is the official start of the new year for us.  After the Winter Solstice, the days start to get longer, the sun starts warming things up, albeit very slowly.  Life starts coming back.  This is the day that the Goddess gives birth to the God, represented by the sun.

The Tree that gets decorated – You start with an evergreen tree.  Evergreens don’t lose their needles in winter, like deciduous trees do.  They stay alive all winter, bright and green, holding on.  It’s a symbol of that eternal life, and that’s why I decorate a tree for Yule.  It is a mass celebration of all the little “gifts” that we receive throughout the year.  Ornaments and lights symbolizing all those precious memories and moments, laughter and tears.  I use a fake tree, instead of a real one.  Personal choice, as I can’t cut a living tree down for a holiday, not when I’m not going to actually use the wood to stay warm afterward. But the fake tree works just as well to remind me that life survives.

The Home Tree

A family member recently asked me why I do “Christmas”, if it’s not my holiday.  Well, I don’t really do Christmas.  But there are members of my family that celebrate it.  Members that are not pagan.  I spend that time with them, because it’s about family, this holiday season, whatever you call it.  My holiday, Yule, is spent giving home-made gifts, things I spent my own time and heart on, to the other people that appreciate and celebrate this holiday.

And yes, when someone tells me “Merry Christmas” I thank them, and say “Happy Holidays” back. 

Of course, if you’re a close friend, you’ll get “Happy ChristmaHannaKwaanzaaYulika!”

Just to be fair.

8 thoughts on “Yule & Christmas

    • Ok, since I didn’t watch Seinfeld (don’t hit me! Again!), I had to go look it up at Wikipedia, and it says that “Festivus includes practices such as the “Airing of Grievances,” which occurs during the Festivus meal and in which each person tells everyone else all the ways they have disappointed him or her over the past year. After the meal the “Feats of Strength” are performed, involving wrestling the head of the household to the floor, with the holiday ending only if the head of the household is actually pinned.”

      Ok, so maybe I could actually get into this one.
      😀

  1. See??? Does that not sound like the best holiday EVER??????? I’m going out to the garage right now to get our pole out…and the have been working on my Ninja moves all year in prep for the feats of strength part of the Holiday……. Tis my favorite time of year….. 🙂

  2. Holy buckets…

    I’m head of my household, and the boys could subdue me without blinking, them being a little over, and a little under, 6 ft tall, and me being only 5’4″ on a good day!

    I think I’ll make sure to hide this holiday from them!

    • LOL! Sparrow, I can’t imagine you doing the Airing of Grievances, either! You’re just not that “guilt mom”. You’re too sweet for that. And if your boys ever tried to take you down? I’ll let you borrow my girls, who will happily cut them down to size for ya! 😉

  3. I can’t believe it’s Christmas/Yule season already. I haven’t even started making the presents I’m giving out!
    I love the picture of Happy Everything. I just might print that out and put it on my fridge!

    • I love it too! I used it last year to send out to all my “e-mail only” friends.

      I also have a couple of projects that have yet to be begun, *cringing* but the only one I’m most worried about is the one that has to get to Japan! I need to get busy! 🙂

  4. excellent publish, very informative. I wonder why the opposite experts of this sector don’t understand this. You should continue your writing. I’m confident, you’ve a huge readers’ base already!

Leave a Reply

