Home » anxiety » Uncharted

Uncharted

Many of you know that I’ve been working on a novel.  I took part in, and won, NaNoWriMo this year – 50,000 words in 30 days.  I have continued to work on it, but I took some time off from writing on that to try to get through some pretty stressful holidays.

During this time, I was offered something – right out of left field, and I have to admit, it’s got me all a-flutter.

I have other blogs, one of which is called Brea’s Spirit.  On this blog, it’s mostly just thoughts, motivations, reminders to myself to be aware and mindful of what’s going on around me.  It’s about my search for deity and spirituality.  I never really meant it to be a place for others, but a few have decided that they like it, which is a continually awe-inspiring thought to me.

Much to my wondering eyes, one day when I clicked over to put down the day’s thoughts, I had a message waiting for me that was astonishing in its surprise.

A lady that was reading my stuff over there, approached me about writing poetry for a book collaboration that she wants to publish about people that were accused of witchcraft during the Burning Times.  She wanted the harder prose and poetry, the darker, disturbing stuff that makes people squirm and think.

I can do that.

So now, I have not just one goal, of getting my novel published, but this one.  I want this book to succeed, to get published.  This lady has published other works, and I’m excited about this endeavor.  This land is uncharted, to me.  I don’t know the landscape, nor do I have any landmarks to follow.  I’m flying without a GPS at hand, no map to guide me.

But I’m ok with that.  Because I’m taking the risk.  I’m going to jump off that cliff, and build my wings on the way down.

14 thoughts on “Uncharted

  1. I always knew that your writing talents AND your great spirit would lead you great things in writing. Congrats Brea! I am so truly happy for you. Way to go Sister!! 🙂

  2. Yay for you! I’ve admired your writing since I started reading your blogs. Congratulations!

  3. I’m so proud and happy for you my friend! I know those wings will grow too! 😉 This is awesome news!! Go for it in full confidence! (Doing the Happy Dance in circles around you!!)
    XOXXO
    ~Fae

  4. First, congrats (Because I firmly believe that you cannot go without too many Congratulations to inspire you.)

    Second, how cool and inspiring for others out there pushing to write or be published.

    :: side note :: I read all your blogs. *blush*

    • Thank you! The risk… well, I think at this point the bigger risk is in NOT doing it, my friends would be beating me over the head! 😀

Leave a Reply

