Home » anxiety » Friday Filosophy 12/31/10

Friday Filosophy 12/31/10

End of the year.

End of a decade.

I hate goodbyes.  I don’t like the way they make me feel, cut loose like a rowboat without oars, drifting off into the fog.  And some goodbyes are harder than others.

But I’ll be glad to say goodbye to 2010. 

I’ve already talked about the lessons I’ve learned in this past year.  Some of them I already knew in my head, but they really came home to roost in my heart this year.  Some of the others… well, they were hard-learned.  But then you don’t really learn the important stuff when you’re happy and skipping down the street, do you? 

You learn the hard, important stuff most often, on your knees, in the dirt, crying and wiping snot from your face.  The lessons have a tendency to stick a little longer when you have that kind of memory backing it up.

But now, as I step into 2011, and enter into what, for me, is a very introspective portion of the year, I seek to define my goals and hopes for the upcoming 12 months.  And I also count the blessings that I received this year.  There were blessings.

Blessings:  (Not in any order of importance, but in order of memory)

1.  I not only participated in, but won NaNoWriMo.  I actually can do it.  I earned the blessing of self-confidence in my own writing.

2. My best friend from high school followed my Facebook page here, and contacted me again after many years.  I re-gained the gift and blessing of a very dear friend.

3.  I started my blog in December of 2009, but really, the meat of the beast didn’t fall into place until this year.  This blog has been a HUGE blessing in my life this year, in more ways than I can enumerate.

4.  Through the blogging world, I’ve met and gotten to know some very amazing people, many of whom have wormed their way into my heart, and are now lodged there as members of my chosen family.  There is no greater blessing than adding loved ones to your life.  I am extremely well blessed with this chosen family, as they are all made of awesome.

5.  I was offered a chance to get published, through one of my other blogs.  It’s for my poetry, which I never really thought seriously about getting published.  This is the surprise blessing of the year, I think.  Out of the blue, for something I’d never thought about, and the thrill still gives me the butterflies.

And now, the goals I want to work on, accomplish, or start this year:

Goals:

1.  FINISH the novel’s first draft.  I am determined on this, and I won’t stop.  I need to reorient my evenings to make room for this. 

2.  Get the Wicca 101 class set up, and then run it.  I need to write the curriculum and prepare whatever class-scheduling I need to.  Plus, I need to finalize the plans for where the class will happen during the cold months.  Nice weather calls for lessons in the park.

3.  Work on getting back into shape.  Right now the shape is round.  Weebles wobble…

4.  Get some of the home projects finished this year.  New windows, privacy fence, new trees in the backyard, some plaster work and some work in the bathroom.  Lots of projects.  But you gotta start somewhere, hunh?

5.  Get my mental health back on a more positive track.  Depression sucks.  Anxiety bites.  And I want to get my joy back again on a more permanent basis.

So, blessings and goals in place, I’ll stride forward into 2011, head up, eyes on the road ahead.  I’ll kiss 2010 goodbye, the good – the bad – the indifferent.  And this time, the goodbye doesn’t leave me feeling so lost.  Just because the oars might not be in the boat, doesn’t mean I’m stranded.

I know how to swim.

20 thoughts on “Friday Filosophy 12/31/10

  1. Beautiful post, great reflections and an awesome set of goals! Blogging these last three months and the friendships I have made through blogging have truly made a difference for me.

    Here is to a Happy New Year!

    • Thanks! It has been a great experience, and I’m so glad I found my way here as well. Happy New Year to you as well!

  2. Ah.. Breathe in the goodness, inspirations and goals for the new year.
    …phew… Breathe out the anxiety, depression, stress, and worries of the year gone.

    I am happy to be privy to your blog, and grateful to have found you on facebook. You’re an amazing person, wonderful with words and an inspiration to me. (mainly for nanowrimo reasons)

    Cheers, here is to you Ms. Brea

    ❤♫❤♫❤.•*¨`*•..¸ ♥☼♥¸.•*¨`*•.♫❤♫❤♫❤
    ╔═════════ ೋღ❤ღೋ ═════════╗
    ೋ ❤❤❤~~HAPPY NEW YEAR~~❤❤❤ ೋ
    ╚═════════ ೋღ❤ღೋ ═════════╝
    ❤♫❤♫❤.•*¨`*•..¸ ♥☼♥ ¸.•*¨`*•.♫❤♫❤♫❤

    • Thank you so much! I hope you have a wonderful, healthy and prosperous New Year! Breathe in, light and clean – breathe out…..expel the darkness and that which no longer serves. Breathe in. (HUGS) to you Ms. Regan! (I’m not so good with the graphics as thou art!) 😀

  3. Wishing you a wonderful year full of growth, joy, happiness, love, and laughter….and praying that you reach all of your goals. Thanks for coming into my life in 2010! 🙂

  4. Happy New Year My Dear Friend!
    I am so happy for you. Like you, I hate good byes, but I was more than ready to push 2010 out the door, mid way though. Now comes the goals. I want my own blog to write what I wish, but have to learn how to do it. The paying ones are a help financially, but are not mine, if you know what I mean. There are a great deal of your goals that are the same as mine. It doesn’t surprise me though. We met for a reason and I smiled when I read yours like I would have been reading my own. Now to put it all in “overdrive” and go for them, eh? 😉
    I’m so proud of what you have accomplished in the past year, despite of all the BS.
    I love ya, GF, and one of my blessings of last year, was to “meet” you. And a great story in it’s self, don’t cha think? lol
    Brightest Blessings for the coming year!!
    XOXXO
    ~Fae

    • LOL, Fae, I’m not sure I could even describe the wonderful weirdness of how we “met”! Meeting your doppleganger online, that is truly…well, COOL, and strange and funny!

      And hey, you want a blog? Might I recommend….. WordPress?? 😉

  5. happy New Year!!!
    I am only just catching up as I spent New Year in hospital after all. So my only resolution is NEVER to have to do that again; I saw the new year in sitting alone in a bay at A+E, waiting to be taken up to a ward. Though I feel quite rubbish still, it was a very interesting experience all round. Glad to get home a little while ago.
    here’s to a great year ahead of us all!
    xx

    • Aw, man, Viv. I hope you’re feeling much better now! I don’t mind a quiet New Year, but I wouldn’t like being in the hospital, then or anytime. Spent my fair share of time in one or the other. (blech)

      And YES! To a great year all around!

  6. I am glad for 2010 to be over as well. 2010 was a hard year for me for many reasons. Your post is lovely, and I love your goals, Brea! And for the record? I consider you a part of my little bloggy family. I love you!

    xoxoxoxoxo

  7. Great post full of optimism, humor and hope for the future. Yeah, that’s something I can agree with! 🙂

    Congratulations on all of your success!

    • Thanks! I hang onto that hope like a cat clawing its way up the pantleg of life, trying to get away from the sucking doom of the vacuum aimed at my head somedays.

  8. Hey, great post. Great blog. It is fresh and to the point. I just read literally dozens of blogs, because I can’t sleep, and yours is by far the best quality. You know it is rare to find decent content on these things… Most of them are cheap and spammy.

Leave a Reply

