Home » anxiety » Life in Outer Space

Life in Outer Space

Time now, for a report from the moon.

The earth looks awful pretty from where I sit.  All blues and browns and the lazy white of clouds.  Even some green, although it’s pretty sparse in some places.

Peaceful and quiet from here on the moon, where I sleep, these days.

Let’s pull it back, a bit, shall we?

Yup, that’s an image of the Earth, painted on the inside of my new bedroom, down in the basement.

When we moved into this house, EldestDaughter took over the basement bedroom.  She got privacy, and a 1/2 bath right next to her, plus the whole of the basement to rule during the night-time hours.

She was a dedicated night-owl, and decided that when we painted her room, it was going to be the night sky.  complete with glow-in-the-dark stars.

Stuck to an acoustic-tile, dropped ceiling.  Which, of course, I painted navy blue, to match the walls.  There are dozens of stars scattered over the ceiling, and they glow beautifully, most of the night.

Quiet, anxiety-free, and apart.  This room has been a haven of serenity for me for the last couple of nights, since I moved into it.  I’ve slept better than I have in months, and my friends even say that I look like I’ve had a weight lifted.  I have.  I am more relaxed, more me, than I was.  It’s been nice, really nice.

When I painted this room, I used a sliding star-chart, to calculate the exact stars that were visible in the heavens on the night that EldestDaughter was born, and I painted them around her room.  They, too, glow in the dark, and took hours of painstaking work to complete.  But it was a labor of love, and I’m glad it worked out as well as it did.  If you look closely, you can see the Big Dipper…

Now, life on the moon isn’t always easy.  There is the whole “lack of oxygen” thing, and you’re kind of confined to one small area that’s liveable.  It’s not a place for permanent residence, obviously.

And yes, things have been awkward, strange, and strained for the times when I’m on Terra Firma in the rest of the house. It’s to be expected, and I’m prepared. Well, as prepared as I can be, anyway.

But, as a temporary get-away… it’s lovely.  And that big, blue-brown-white marble floating on the doorway, reminds me that I can still get there… from here. And that’s me, signing off, from my temporary retreat – in outer space, out here on the moon.

13 thoughts on “Life in Outer Space

    • Each one of my kids has a different “theme” in their rooms. It was something I really wanted when I was a kid, but never had, so I promised mine that however they wanted their rooms painted, I’d find a way to make it happen.

      We have the night sky for Eldest
      The Enchanted Forest for YoungerDaughter
      and OnlySon is In the Ocean

      I’ll be posting more pics, of the other rooms, as soon as I can find them.

  1. It’s good to see that you are adjusting fairly well so far. If things get tense on Terra Firma….head back down to your temporary retreat.

    • Well, BigBro, some of it is candy-coated shell. But I’m building the protective bunker. I know there will be shelling, so… gotta flak jacket lying around anywhere from your time in the “trenches”? I could use the hand-me-downs.

  2. It looks lovely, perfect for some me-time. Hope it wouldn’t get too lonely – it’s only for special occasions I guess, not for everyday use 😉

  3. Glad you have somewhere to retreat to. I know too well that it can mean the difference between sanity and the unattractive alternative. *hugs*

Leave a Reply

