Home » daydreaming » April 1 – Really?

April 1 – Really?

I’m pretty sure that someone told me that Spring was here.

I think maybe it decided it didn’t like North Dakota, and fled south.

But, then again, maybe it’s just working itself up to sticking around, by taking baby steps.  I have some pictures as proof.

First of all…..

At the local K-store, I see that the carts have begun their yearly migration towards the cart corrals.   They’re not actually in the cart corrals, you see, more scattered willy-nilly around the outside, as though waiting for that final big THAW, to actually commit to the full migration.

This signals a shifting in the temps, because during the hard, winter months?  They sit, shivering, huddled right up next to my vehicle.  At least, that’s where I always find them when I come back out of the stores, so I’m assuming that they either want a ride to somewhere warmer, or they’re just looking to be adopted.  Either way, I shoo them off to find other families.  I just simply don’t have the time, or enough WD-40, to look after them all. 

And Jack, our resident wheel-hater, would simply go ballistic if I brought these 4-wheeled monstrosities home with me.

Yes, anything with wheels attached gets chased, and attacked, with much loud barking and whining, when this big boy’s on the prowl.  Leave the roller-blades at home.

Next, we have the vision that greeted me yesterday morning as I was on my way to work.

Fog, thick, misty, and swirling around the buildings.  This usually means that the air is starting to warm up, and is planning on staying that way.

And yet, this afternoon, I got Winter Storm Warnings on my Weatherbug App on my Blackberry.  Saturday night….. all the way into Monday.

Joy.

But lastly?  I am pretty sure that Spring must really be on its way.  Because there are flowers everywhere…

Wait – What?  They’re from a flower shop?  Are you sure?  But they’re so SPRINGY

Oh, alright, so they’re a gift from a friend that thinks I need to smile more.

And they work.  I smile every time I look at them.

And… the women in the office?  Totally jealous.  BONUS!

So, is Mother Nature playing the ultimate April Fools’ Joke on us all?  Only time will tell.  But I’d be willing to bet, she’s just getting us ready to be truly grateful for a FABULOUS SUMMER.

And I’m gonna believe that’s the truth, and make it so.  Happy Friday, friends!

8 thoughts on “April 1 – Really?

    • Oh yeah, you name it, wagons, lawn mowers, vacuums, bikes, snowblowers, wheelbarrows… doesn’t matter! If there’s a wheel, he wants to DESTROY it! But, conversely? If you give him a sled with a rope attached, he’ll YANK that sucker all over the yard! Funniest dog I know!

  1. I sure hoped you whipped into that Arby’s after you snapped that pic! I would kill for an Arby’s! The closest one to here is 45 miles away.

    Neener Neener! Happy AFD!

    • Nope! This is actually on my way to work. We have an Arby’s outlet in the mall, as well. Eat your heart out, BigBro.

      NEENER NEENER!

  2. Spring keeps teasing me like a shameless hussy. She shows me a warm day with a little green grass, then she covers it up with clouds and a dusting of snow. Cheap tramp.

Leave a Reply

