Home » family » Musical Cars and Magickal Wheels

Musical Cars and Magickal Wheels

This last week, I’ve been playing a came of “musical cars”.  First, I get the van running again, after the battery dies.  Then, in the attempt to get my EldestDaughter’s car running (the one that I had to take over the payments on a few months ago), so that YoungerDaughter can drive it to work and school, I had to argue most of Friday, with the garage that I asked to replace a tire.

And I know, that if I’d been a guy, it would have been done, right away, first thing that morning. 

Whatever.

So, I finally get the little car back, and it’s running…. when the power steering fluid starts to leak in the van.

Grrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr……………….

Once again, it’s back to the garage.  This time, I called them on Saturday, and they told me they couldn’t look at it till Monday.  That’s actually fine with me, we now have the little car, and it runs.  I have wheels, even though they’re not really mine. 

So, YoungerDaughter and I took the van down to the garage.  When I got back into the little car, we decided to head out and pick up a few things that it needed – new windshield wipers, wiper fluid, a couple of floor mats, an air freshener (yes, it needed FRESHENING), and a steering wheel cover.

And then, as we were pulling out of the parking lot of the store…..

Something happened.

Suddenly, I was not the “Mom” driving a teenager’s car… I was…..

TAWANDA – behind the wheel of a speedy little four-seater Formula None racer!

I had the tiger by the tail, and I was gonna swing that frickin’ cat for all she was worth!  NOONE could stop me, and I could fit into any tiny little space, with the speed of a North Dakota jackalope!

YoungerDaughter has since forbidden me to drive with her in the vehicle.  She’d rather walk.

Chicken.

Here’s the weapon.

A little battered, a little bruised, this cherry ride is so reminiscent of my first car… a beautiful robin’s egg blue Pinto.  Tiny seats, no room to stretch, and the window so close you can turn your head and touch it with your face without leaning over.

And here’s my ticket to ride.

I may have to wait to get my van back till late today, possibly tomorrow…

Do I seem worried?

Nope.  But maybe everybody else should be.  Tawanda’s got WHEELS!

Little Deuce Coupe~ The Beach Boys

Little deuce Coupe
You don’t know what I got
Little deuce Coupe
You don’t know what I got

Well I’m not braggin’ babe so don’t put me down
But I’ve got the fastest set of wheels in town
When something comes up to me he don’t even try
Cause if I had a set of wings man I know she could fly
She’s my little deuce coupe
You don’t know what I got
(My little deuce coupe)
(You don’t know what I got)

Just a little deuce coupe with a flat head mill
But she’ll walk a Thunderbird like (she’s) it’s standin’ still
She’s ported and relieved and she’s stroked and bored.
She’ll do a hundred and forty with the top end floored
She’s my little deuce coupe
You don’t know what I got
(My little deuce coupe)
(You don’t know what I got)

She’s got a competition clutch with the four on the floor
And she purrs like a kitten till the lake pipes roar
And if that aint enough to make you flip your lid
There’s one more thing, I got the pink slip daddy

And comin’ off the line when the light turns green
Well she blows ’em outta the water like you never seen
I get pushed out of shape and it’s hard to steer
When I get rubber in all four gears

She’s my little deuce coupe
You don’t know what I got
(My little deuce coupe)
(You don’t know what I got)
She’s my little deuce coupe
You don’t know what I got
(My little deuce coupe)
(You don’t know what I got)
She’s my little deuce coupe
You don’t know what I got

Anybody need a RIDE???

7 thoughts on “Musical Cars and Magickal Wheels

  1. I’ll pass on this; am SO not a speed freak. I did get my bike out on Saturday for the first ride of 5 years. needless to say, I had the brakes on much of the time.
    have fun but be careful!
    xx

    • LOL! I am actually a pretty careful driver, don’t speed, follow all the rules, etc. This little buggy, however, brought something out in me that day… I’m over it.

      I want my “Mom wheels” back. 🙂

  2. Pingback: The Driving Drama Continues | Brea's Air

Leave a Reply

