Home » blogging » Another Year, Another Anniversary

Another Year, Another Anniversary

This Saturday, I will most likely be holed up, somewhere quiet, to pass the day.

Why?  Because that is April 9. 

2 years from the day that my sister and friend, Midnite, passed from this life, beyond the Veil, and onto the next stage.

After last night’s posting about the family in Fort Yates that suffered so much, I was a little down.  So much suffering and tragedy, it breaks my heart to witness it, and not be able to act.  There are so many times that I wish I could do more, say more, give more.  But there’s only so much that can be said, that can be done. 

And the same is true here.

I wrote, last year, about my friend.  About how she changed my life, how she lived, and how she died.  And now, that time has come ’round again. 

A lot has changed in the past year.  I truly found a new home, here in the blogging world, and thanks to my wonderful new “chosen family”, I’m once again writing, really writing from my heart, as I always wanted to do.  I wish that Midnite could have been a part of this, but it was not meant to be.  I know that a part of her is with me still, and always will be, but she has moved on.  And so must I.

This year, the anniversary of her passing is still painful, but not as badly as it was last year.  Time has softened the edges of it, blurred the lines a little, and the memories aren’t as sharp or well-defined.  This, too, is a natural part of the healing process.  I know that it’s different for each person who was touched by her life, and I know too, that there will be more “moments” where I simply am overwhelmed by her loss.

But the better moments, the happier memories, are starting to outweigh the grief.  And this… is a good thing.

I still miss you, Sis. 

And I will never forget.

Love you.

6 thoughts on “Another Year, Another Anniversary

  1. A huge piece of Midnite will always be with you, and I am sure she is happy that you are taking control of your life. 🙂

    • Ohmy, 2 Scorpios… with the exact same birthday… in the same room at the same time?
      Isn’t there a sci-fi rule about that kind of paradox?
      LOL, I don’t know if I could have handled that!?! 😀
      It’s alright, truly. I’m going to take the day, spend it with OnlySon and EldestDaughter in our little town. YoungerDaughter has to work that day, so it’s gonna be a ROADIE with my boy! She would have approved of you, though, obviously!!

Leave a Reply

