Home » daydreaming » My Random Life

My Random Life

Time once again to play that old game of “The Random Life of Brea”.

Basically, because I don’t have anything for Tuesday Theology today.  So you get the randomness that is my brain.  Lucky you!

*My neck is out of whack, has been for weeks, and I’m just that stubborn that I refuse to go to a chiropractor, thanks.  I’ve had YoungerDaughter try to crack my back a couple of times, but she’s not really strong enough to do it.  Eldest can, but she’s 75 miles away, so that’s out of my choices.  There’s one woman at work who’s walked on my back a couple of times, but this is my neck.  I don’t think I want her to step on that, even though she only weighs about 10 pounds. (Not really, of course, but you get the idea)  **The heating pad and my Midol (because of the muscle relaxers in it) are my best friends right now**

*Speaking of YoungerDaughter, I received a phone call yesterday afternoon… with Younger asking me oh so sweetly, if there was anything I needed her to do today after school… oh, and by the way… could she have her BOYFRIEND come over to the house for a little while?? *blink, blink* o.O

Uhhhh… yeah?  I s’pose, it’s alright… I mean, well… I did say that she could have friends come over to the house now that it doesn’t have to be so quiet all the time anymore… crap.  Here we go.

And yeah, I do trust her… so I let her have him over, especially since he was there when I got home, and I know this kid’s not up to any funny business with my daughter, because she’d KILL him first.  Still.  GAH!

*  Mother’s Day was pretty nice.  My nephew, Will, brought me some lovely flowers and a card on Saturday, and YoungerDaughter gave me flowers, a card, and a pack of my favorite gum (it’s a “thing” with Younger, she’s obsessive about gum).  Then, YoungerDaughter and OnlySon and I went to our local garden shop, and I got my yearly Mother’s Day tree, a flame maple, and a double-blossoming plum shrub/tree.  I’ve been wanting one for some time, but they were always too expensive.  Sunday, I got mine ON SALE!  Woot!  I would dearly love to turn my backyard into a grove of trees.  I know it’s not really feasible, but I am adding some color and shade with what I’ve gotten so far.  I’m excited to rake in the fall.  Seriously.

* And, to be perfectly honest, I’m still having some “down” times.  On the whole, I’ve been happier, more content, than I have been for a long time.  I’ve even had people at work, whom I’ve known for years, tell me that it’s amazing how much “lighter” my personality seems in comparison to the last few years.  One woman even told me that that out of all of the 3 years that she’s worked with me – she’s never seen me this “up” and happy.  Wow.  I didn’t realize just how much I’d changed.  It’s…. a little sad – to realize that I was that depressive and depressing to be around.  I thought I was covering pretty well… guess not.  But, at least things are getting better. 

The moments are still there, at odd times, when I stop, stare off into space, and fall into one of those moods… but they don’t weigh me down as much, or as often as they were.  I am able to pick myself up easier, and move on quicker.  This is good.  Now, I just need the paperwork to  be final, so I can finally put a end to that phase of my life.  I really need to get out of Limbo, and get into the next part of my life.  Picking up the pieces, making a new plan, and having some resolution.  I need to be able to close this chapter, finally.  Hopefully, it will happen soon.  Time to get back in motion!

7 thoughts on “My Random Life

  1. What a thoughtful daughter! To call and ask if there is anything she can do for you? Breathtaking! 🙂

    In general, happy and “up” is preferable to the alternative, so good on that!

    • Yes, she is so thoughtful, helpful, kind, considerate… and when I hear the words – “Mommy, I love you” I instantly know they WANT SOMETHING.

      In all honesty, this child is usually pretty helpful, but this is a rare occasion that I get a phone call asking if she can “help out” around the house!

  2. I’m happy for you that you are doing better in general, but do take care of the neck! I carry all my tension in my neck and shoulders and couldn’t live without my weekly visit to the chiro. A couple of things that help me when it gets really bad: 1) Valerian … yeah it stinks, but it’s the best muscle relaxer ever! (I usually take it with Advil) 2) Lay on your back on the bed with your head hanging over the side, relax for a few minutes and let the weight of your head decompress the vertebrae in your neck, then gently roll the head from side to side (courtesy of my chiro). Hope it feels better soon! *hugs*

    • Oh, it’s already starting to feel better! YoungerDaughter was finally able to pop my back last night, and even though I’m still pretty sore, it’s a LOT better. I think it has a lot to do with the chair that I sit in during the evenings, and I’m going to be switching the living room up, to see if it makes a difference. If it does, then that chair GOES!

      • Yay! Believe me, I know how much a “bad” chair can affect the back … I’m the poster child for how NOT to sit when working on the computer. To make things worse. when my recliner started to go downhill, I didn’t feel like shopping for a new one so it got worse and worse until I had no choice. It took me forever to find a replacement, but the new one is sooo comfy! 😀

  3. Glad to hear you are still doing as well, or better, than can be expected. Your co-workers will notice the positive changes long before you do…. 🙂

    • Thanks, Mark. There are still times when I just want to curl up, but it is getting better. And yeah, it’s funny how the people outside the picture see it so much clearer…

Leave a Reply

