Home » family » Texas Wins – With Chocolate!

Texas Wins – With Chocolate!

Earlier I posted that I was making a cake to take to work today. 

And so I did. 

The toothpicks are to keep the tinfoil off the frosting. Mmmm, frosting…

And ONE hour after I got back to the office with it??

Demolished.

The cake was totally gone by the time I was leaving for the day. 

I now have to make another cake, for my children, or I will be disowned. 

Ah well, I can do that.

Texas Chocolate Cake

Sift together:

2 cups sugar, 2 cups flour – set aside in a large mixing bowl

In sauce pan, mix:

2 sticks margarine, 4 Tblsp. cocoa, 1 cup water

Bring to rapid boil, and pour over flour and sugar mix.  Mix very well, and add:

1/2 cup buttermilk (I have used the powdered buttermilk as well as real, they both work just fine); 1/4 tsp. cinnamon; 1 tsp. vanilla; 2 beaten eggs; 1 tsp. soda

***********Mix well (Batter will be very thin) and pour into large 12/16 greased pan (jelly-roll pan).  Bake 25 minutes at 350 degrees. (I check it after 20 minutes, as my oven runs a little hot).  Stick a toothpick in the center, and if it comes out clean, or the sides of the cake are pulling away from the pan, it’s done.

**************************************************************************

Chocolate Chip Frosting

Put together in sauce pan:

1 cup sugar; 5 Tblsp. margarine; 1/3 cup milk

*Boil sugar, margarine and milk together for 30 seconds to a minute.  (I count out to 60 seconds at a rolling boil)

*Add:  1 capful (1 tsp.) vanilla; and 1/2 to 3/4 cup chocolate chips (My mom adds about 1/2 cup mini marshmallows to the 1/2 cup chocolate chips, but that’s a little rich for me)

*Stir the frosting constantly until appropriate consistency(Thick, big drops when you lift the spoon out of the frosting)  Spread on cake.  (My mom cheats and balances the sauce pan in a larger bowl of cold water, this works, but makes the frosting cool REALLY fast, so be careful, or it will granulate on you before you can get it on the cake)

YUMMY!

***********************************************************************

I hope that if/when you make this cake, you and your families enjoy it as much as my own!  This is the cake that gets requested for most holidays/birthdays around our house, and it’s going to be a continual favorite for years to come.  Enjoy!

6 thoughts on “Texas Wins – With Chocolate!

Leave a Reply

