Home » humor » Look Out Below!

Look Out Below!

My basement is a mess.

No, really.

I’ve often referred to my basement as “The BlackHole” for good reason.

Everything that has an “I’ll deal with this later” tag applied, gets put down there, stacked in true “Hoarder-in-Training” fashion, and, well… pretty much gets forgotten.

I’m working on it.

Today, I had some time to myself.   And with OnlySon off at his father’s house, and YoungerDaughter off at work, I decided that the time was right to start tackling the ENORMOUS chore of cleaning, sorting, packing and rearranging. 

Let’s just say… I got a small portion of it done.

Most of the time, I spent sweeping up dog hair, from my dog, Jill, who has been shedding her winter coat.  I could now build either another German Shepherd, or a litter of 12 Chihuahuas, from what I picked up.

Speaking of Jilly, I took her down to EldestDaughter’s apartment this weekend.  I didn’t want to give up my dog, but it’s a little more than I can handle right now, having two VERY large dogs, eating VERY large amounts of dog food every month, on only one salary.  Plus, EldestDaughter and Jilly-girl are very tight, and I knew that she’d take good care of my girl.  Jill would take care of Eldest, that is.

And she earned her kibble this weekend.

Someone tried to break into Eldest’s apartment this weekend, after robbing the store that she lives directly above, and Jilly was there to guard her.  Let’s just say, Eldest wouldn’t be staying in that apartment if she didn’t have her very territorial and protective pooch right there with her.  She was terrified.  They haven’t caught the guy/guys yet, but, it’s a small town, and they have a pretty good idea who it was, and they’re getting fingerprints, from the store, to match up with the alleged culprits.

ANYWHO!

Getting back to my “project-dujour”, I barely scratched the surface, and yet still came away with 3 VERY LARGE black yard-sized garbage bags full of junk and hair, and managed to sort through and find another 3 boxes of Eldest’s stuff to be taken down to her next chance I get.  I still have a lot to go through, however, and I think this is going to be a summer-long project, not just one weekend.

Ack.

I’d have a rummage sale, but I’m terrible at organizing those things.  I also hate sitting outside, all day long, politely telling people why my stuff isn’t crap, when OBVIOUSLY I don’t want it anymore, so really, what good is it?

I think maybe I’ll just go the route I usually do, and haul it all to the second-hand stores for give-away.  I just took 6 bags of clothes up to my favorite one, and I have another bag being filled as I clean and sort.  I’ve always been of the mind that if I’m getting rid of something because it no longer fits, or I’m simply tired of it, or I don’t like it, I’d much rather someone be able to get some use out of it.  And it makes me feel good to donate, knowing that the store helps the community, and people less fortunate.  I also shop there occasionally, and have found some good stuff.  I love second-hand shops.

One of the reasons why I wanted to clean the basement in the first place, is because there’s so much “stuff” down there, that I don’t need, don’t want, and will never, ever use.  A lot of it is the husband’s, and I’ll be sorting that and setting it aside for pickup at a later time.  It takes a lot to disentangle 14 years of being together… but it needs to be done.

And then, EldestDaughter still has a few boxes worth of stuff, which I’m finding scattered randomly, and that is all going in her old room till I can haul it to her.

And, of course, there’s the everyday, waste-of-space stuff.  And I’m fighting with myself.  Because some of it, I know still has life left in it, like the 25-gallon fishtank, and the 360 degree Lite-Brite. 

But all of these things are missing little bits here and there, so really, does it have a life left to it, or is it just simply junk, and I’m having trouble saying good-bye to the memories attached to them?

Am I really a Hoarder-in-Training?  Or just someone that has trouble with “Goodbyes”?

A little of both, I think…

And something I need to work on.

Look out below…. I’m coming down again, soon… and I have LOTS of big, black, yard-worthy garbage bags.

6 thoughts on “Look Out Below!

  1. OMG … talk about timing! Good thing Jilly was there for your daughter. Yikes.

    Isn’t it amazing all the reasons we can come up with to keep things? I know I’m a pack-rat, but our small house is now about to bust at the seams. I need to get my butt in gear doing exactly what you’re doing. I hope it goes smoothly for you. 😉

    • Definitely good timing. And Jill is a good dog, she’s protective, while still friendly, long as you don’t threaten her people!

    • She is. She’s also going to have some more security measures installed, as hers is the only apartment there. It’s a small town, but the criminal element is still around, for now.

  2. I have lived in my house for 13 years now and when we moved the house (mobile home) the junk that normally gets thrown out in a move, came along for the ride. I spent the winter getting rid of stuff. It was insane. Bags and bags and bags of trash, crap not worth taking to the thrift store. How do we end up with so much useless garbage?

Leave a Reply

