Home » anxiety » The Mouse That Ate My City

The Mouse That Ate My City

My city, Minot, North Dakota, is still dealing with severe, catastrophic flooding from the Souris/Mouse River system.  There are a lot of communities stretching from Canada all the way down the river system, that are being flooded.  This is not just affecting my city, but I can only speak to my own experiences.

My house is outside of the evacuation zone, up at the top of what is known here as “North Hill”.  Nevertheless, we’ve had to plug all our basement drains, to prevent possible sewer backups, we’re now under a “boil order” for our tap water, because of possible contamination in the city’s water treatment system, and there aren’t a lot of facilities available on my hill as far as groceries, so we have to try to conserve everything.  We’re kind of cut off – there being only one route from the North end of town to the South end, and that’s pretty choked with traffic most of the time.  They’re hoping to remedy this soon.

I know that I have been out of touch for a while, with spotty posting, and not a lot of contact with friends/family via phone, facebook, etc.  I’ve been mostly hibernating, waiting, and watching the local news with an almost manic obsession.  *sigh* 

And I know that a lot of people have been displaced here, lost their homes completely.  I’m lucky to still have my home, electricity, internet, etc.  But it’s still hard to cope.  I’m working on it. 

My community has come together like I’ve never seen in all the 12 years I’ve lived here.  I am really proud to live here.  And proud that I was able to help, even in the small way that my kids and I were able on last Thursday, trying to help a local family save their gas station.  And now, for some pictures.

This is just part of the crowd of people that gathered, trying to save the gas station located behind me in this picture.  OnlySon, YoungerDaughter, a friend of YD’s and I worked for 5 hours Thursday afternoon helping them.  The shop shown in the photo…. is under water today.

This picture – is from one of our local tv stations KX News Minot.  You can find them on Facebook, to see even more pictures.  They have a TON of still pictures and videos of Minot and the surrounding areas.  This picture is showing the dike that we worked on, from a tour taken in a Black Hawk helicopter from the local Air Force base here in Minot.  I found out today that there is water inside the dike now, having leaked in from underneath, but it is only up to the countertops inside.  It could have been so much worse, as shown from this photo here.

This is OnlySon’s school.

Right next to the red banner showing the name… that’s the roof of the school’s entrance.  There was a dike built around this school, but it wasn’t high enough to keep out the water.  I have no idea how long it’s going to be before they get the school in any kind of shape to actually have school again this fall.  They’re talking now about the possibility of a later start on the year.  My son’s actually hoping they just skip it altogether.  Not.

This – is supposed to be a picture of the park that I like to go to a lot.

I can’t even tell you that I recognize it just from the picture. 

And…

This church and school are located at the bottom of my hill.  I drive past these two buildings every day on my way to work.

Well, I did.  I won’t be taking this road for a long time.

And one last picture for today.  Just to show you the difference between “wet” and “dry” portions of town…. The dike shown in the picture is our major secondary dike system keeping water off our main thoroughfare through town.  This road, called “Broadway” is closed to regular traffic, to allow the people working on the levee system to work in safer conditions.  The difference is… breathtaking.  This dike?  Is about 18 – 20 feet high from ground level to the top.  The blue/gray buildings in the picture are 2-story apartment buildings.  Just on the “dry” side is Minot State University. 

Thanks to KX News for the pictures with the red banners.

8 thoughts on “The Mouse That Ate My City

  1. I’ve been watching the coverage nonstop…breaks my heart. Watching, waiting, chomping at the bit to DO SOMETHING. As soon as people can get back to their homes I’ll be in Minot to help out. I think the whole state should “Motor to Minot” and help everyone get back on their feet.

    • And you with your own flooding issues… tsk, tsk… Seriously, my friend – thank you.

      There have been so many, many people that have helped already, and I know that this is going to be a long haul, with my family being less affected than most. And as much as I love this town, especially now, I CAN’T WAIT TO GET OUT… just for a while, get away, and down to the beach. *sigh* I need sunshine, and NO RAIN. You too.

  2. Thanks for the descriptions Brea. It’s one thing to see this on the news, and quite another to hear just how bad it is … I never would have realized those buildings in the last picture were two stories! OMG I do wish we were closer so we could help out. Sadly, it just isn’t feasible to travel 1700 miles to do so.

    Your reaction is totally understandable … watching any sort of disaster on the news is bad enough, but you’re smack in the middle of it. I hope things start to dry out soon so everyone can get to going about the business of trying to get back to normal, or at least close to it. *hugs*

    • Thanks, the local tv stations, especially KX News have been amazing at covering everything, and getting video footage and still pictures. Even though they’ve stopped the continuous coverage, they still have extended news stories on every day to keep everyone up-to-date.

      There have been a lot of things going on over the last few days, some good, some not so much, but there have been so many people here and from elsewhere that have all chipped in to help – it’s awe-inspiring. I just try really hard to remember that there are blessings, even on the hardest days.

      (HUGS)

    • Mark, thanks. I’m just so glad you got to see my city before the “wall-o-water” hit. And someday, hopefully, you guys will be able to come back and see it totally recovered! (HUG)

  3. Pingback: A Little Hope… Goes a Long Way. | Brea's Air

Leave a Reply

