Home » family » Midweek Retread

Midweek Retread

Feeling a little worn out today.

It’s already been a long week, and I’m not even quite halfway done with it.

Between all the up-and-down at work, and my new work-out regimen at home, I’m whipped most nights, and ready to just fall in bed and collapse.  Of course, it feels pretty good to have a couple of the women at work tell me that they can see that I’ve lost some weight, so I’m going to keep doing what I’m doing, and work on getting stronger and in better shape.

http://www.facebook.com/v/2157077660842

YoungerDaughter had her first swim meet yesterday.  The link is to a short, 30-second video of one of her races, in which she came in 3rd.

It was just among their own squad, so it was a good start for the girls to get an idea of where they fit in the team, as well as determining baseline times, so they can watch themselves improve over the year. 

I love watching her swim, but I do have to admit, it’s hard being there… without my friend, Midnite.  She always used to go to the swim meets with me, and we’d cheer ourselves hoarse watching Younger kick her way down the lanes.  It was a bittersweet moment, sitting there alone, but I know that Midnite was there with me, cheering her on.

School for both kids is still about 2 weeks away.  And as it draws closer, OnlySon is getting almost desperate to hang on to his “vacation” state of mind.  I’ve told him that bedtime is going to be earlier, wake-up time is going to be earlier, and soon, he’s going to have to get himself out of bed using his alarm clock.  And that if he can’t get out of bed on his own, his bedtime will be backed up by half an hour – until he can.  He’s certainly old enough now to be responsible enough to get up on his own. 

And I’ll still be driving him to school, for now, as it’s on my way to work.  But soon enough, he’ll have to ride the city bus to school.  He cringes every time I mention it, but once he reaches his freshman year, he’ll be riding the bus every morning.  YoungerDaughter is going to take a few days, as soon as we get the bus route schedule figured for Only’s new school, and help him get used to the routine of riding.  At least this way, he’ll have someone he’s familiar with helping him, instead of getting thrown into it blind.

We’ll see how it goes.  Either it’ll be a huge success, with Only gaining another area where he’s able to be independent, or he’ll get scarred for life by the trauma of riding in a bus full of strangers.  I’m rooting for no psychological damage, and a huge grin when he gets to finally start doing some of these big steps on his own.

Independence – GOOD.  Emotional Trauma – BAD.

See?  Simple. 

un hunh.  Sure.

Leave a Reply

