Home » family » Hanging Onto The Positives

Hanging Onto The Positives

The wind had been blowing all day.

Not always furiously, but constant, and I knew that there was going to be a storm.

And later that night, as I was tucked securely in a bubble bath, and my son watched some of his favorite shows on his television in his room, the wind picked up strongly.  Lashing the house with its angry fingers, it flung leaves in a childlike fit.

Until…

There are three posts outside my house, attached to the overhanging porch, with trellises attached for decoration.

One of them, which had been damaged a couple of weeks before and braced, was knocked loose by the wind.  It grazed the outer storm windows, leaving white marks on the glass.

But it shattered the interior large-pane picture window.

Luckily, I had plastic up over it, which held the fallen glass close to the outer pane, so it didn’t fall onto the floor and furniture that sits right in front of the window.

Also luckily, no one was in the living room at the time that this occurred.

Hours later, OnlySon and I had most of the glass cleaned up, what we could get loose, and what had already fallen.  Some of the broken glass is still stuck in the frame, the sill having been painted over multiple times before we moved in.

So I now have to call a glass company to come to the house to give us an estimate on repairs.  I don’t know if it’ll even be possible to fix without removing the whole thing.

The true miracle here, other than the obvious one of no one getting hurt?

That even though the post did hit the outer window… it didn’t shatter on impact. 

I’m hanging onto the positives… as tightly as I can.

5 thoughts on “Hanging Onto The Positives

    • Hand to heart, so am I. It scared the hell out of me, and I shook for a long time while cleaning up, just thinking about what “could have been”. Thank goodness, it turned out as it did, and not as it could have.

  1. Sparrow knows a good window dude….. Bucky..Wally….something goofy like that…… 🙂

Leave a Reply

