Home » anxiety » The Countdown

The Countdown

Busy, busy day today. I’m getting yet another new tire on my vehicle, working on my crafts I need to finish for gift-giving, finalizing the shopping ( stocking stuffers, mostly), and preparing myself mentally for the big family get-together tomorrow.

No matter how much I might love my family, there’s always tension, especially on holidays. Something about the “forced closeness” brings out emotions that I’d rather stay buried.  So, ahead of time…  I have to psyche myself up for it, get my Zen in a good, thick fog around me, hoping that it’ll shield me from my own issues, as well as others’ emotional baggage.  (Rather like downing a couple of “mental Xanax”). 

Sometimes it even works.

image

8 thoughts on “The Countdown

  1. Why does it feel like you don’t like Xmas at all? 😉
    Love the pic – the Grinch looks tame and cute compared to your little psycho dude.
    Happy Xmas madness! 😀

    • LOL, well, Christmas really isn’t my holiday, & there’s always a lot of emotional baggage that seems to get unwrapped along with the presents. But- I do love my family, so I deal. One. Minute. At. A. Time.

      Hope your holidays are bright and happy, and thanks for stopping by!

  2. *hugs* I hope your family behaves better than normal tomorrow! May your home be filled with peace, love. and light for the year to come. 🙂

    • It was nice, minimal drama, course, it might have helped that I had an allergy attack from the onions in the potato salad, & the drugs spaced me out! 😉

      Seriously, it was a great weekend. Hope your holidays were wonderful, & much good fortune for the new year to you & yours!

Leave a Reply

