Home » family » Eight

Eight

Weekends are funny things. 

Some weekends, I spend the whole time working on something… feverishly moving from one task to another… never sitting still for longer than it takes to eat a quick bite, or catch my breath- only to collapse at the end of the night- satisfied with my accomplishments, & exhausted.

And then, there are the veg-weekends.  During one of those, I move as little as possible, mostly holed-up in the house, a total jammie-sloth. 

Yesterday, I spent my day doing a lot of cleaning, & with my dad, fixing.  Today?

Total sloth.

Haven’t left my chair, except for the requisite reasons like food & bathroom breaks.

Don’t get me wrong… I had busy plans for today.

Loads of them.

But… when I woke up this morning… I had a moment of quiet. 

OnlySon elected to spend the weekend at his dad’s.

ElderDaughter and FutureSonInLaw hadn’t returned for next week’s work schedule yet, and YoungerDaughter had to work today, so I had the house to myself for a few stolen hours.

And the silence beckoned, so I answered with some of my own peacefulness.

Rare these days to have more than 2 minutes alone, I decided not to disturb this pocket of serenity….

A small wonder, this “me time”… so I’m going to stretch out, relax, and enjoy it for all it’s worth.

………….till tomorrow……

2 thoughts on “Eight

  1. I always have the best intentions for the weekend…but then when it’s here I find myself doing things like vacuuming half the living room, doing some dishes, and washing only the essential laundry. I don’t know why I’m so freaking lazy. Maybe it’s the winter blahs. Maybe it’s because I have too much free time so I know I can do things “tomorrow”. Maybe I’m just a turd.

  2. I love days like that! Sadly, this weekend wasn’t one of them for me, but I think I might get a day in a couple of weeks. Hope you had a wonderfully peaceful day! 🙂

Leave a Reply

