Home » anxiety » Thirteen

Thirteen

I like the number 13.

I don’t really know why, but I can take a wild guess. 

(I’m good at wild guesses…I like the way I can let my imagination fly, and they make my brain feel like it’s buzzing full of bees.  I don’t like the way they get me all upset, sometimes though.  Wild guesses must be carriers of brain rabies, hunh?)

Most people are superstitious about the number 13.  “Bad luck number” and all.  Most hotels, apartment buildings, hospitals, etc. – won’t have a floor numbered 13.  The elevator will have buttons 12 and 14 next to each other, as if not using the 13 where it should be is going to make it “all better”.  Strange, but true.

Fear of the number 13 even has its own title Triskaidekaphobia.  Good thing it has more letters than just 13….

13 was the number of loops on a traditional hangman’s noose, because it was said that anything less than that wouldn’t snap a neck, and they’d have to let the accused go, or let him suffocate to death in the noose.

And of course, it’s considered bad luck to have 13 people at your dinner table… due to that whole story about the Last Supper.  (No offense meant to the Christians out there, I just think it’s bad form to have an uneven number of people at the table for a dinner party, someone’s always ending up left out of the conversation)

But a Baker’s Dozen has 13 items in it… and that’s considered a good thing.

Mostly, I think I just like the number 13, and consider it to be a lucky number for me… to spite all the people who think it’s a bad thing.

*cue Frank Sinatra voice* I gotta be me

I’m often a Contrary Mary. 

I’ll do and say things just to be different from the crowd.  Or just to piss off someone who’s pushing me in the other direction.

13 is a prime number… you can’t divide it evenly, no matter how you slice it.

And to me, that’s one of the biggest truths in life.

Thoughtful moment

Life is never going to be able to be divided evenly.  It will never be fair to everyone, or even always fair to anyone.  You can strive for a balance, but it will happen in small moments, it will never be forever.  Take your peace where you can find it, and make the most of it, because it won’t last.  The dance between chaos and order is eternal.

 

3 thoughts on “Thirteen

  1. 13 is one of my favorite numbers! And Friday the 13th has always been a great day for me. It’s not just because I find the vilifying of 13 and Friday the 13th annoying (though I do). I think 13 is a really powerful number (along with 3, 7, and 11). I frequently find 13 showing up in my “beading projects”. Bottom line? I love 13! 🙂

  2. I am always trying to educate people about the whole “Friday the 13th” myth…nothing but a bunch of superstition, but people seem to love to hang on to that with super glue and zeal. Oh well. I, like you, embrace the #13.

    By the way…I’m loving your Thoughtful Moments!

    • Aw, thanks so much! Some days have been harder than others to find something to write about, but then, wonder and thoughtfulness aren’t always about the most obvious things. Sometimes, you have to look a little harder. 🙂

Leave a Reply

