Home » humor » Fourteen

Fourteen

I made a big step in my independence last night. 

I bought myself a new TV.

And while I know that might not seem like much, people buy electronics all the time, it was huge for me.

I was able to afford it- on my own, and I was able to get rid of the enormous white elephant, green-martian looking TV that’s been here for the last 10 years.  The TV that my ex picked out, had to have because it was huge, and expensive (meaning it was, of course, the best), is now sitting, snow covered, on the boulevard… waiting for trash day.

Little by little, I’m changing the world around me.  My living space is becoming more “mine” with every small piece I replace.

And the wonder of this moment… is that I hadn’t realized just how much I was going to feel elated and proud over something so simple.

I feel like a little kid, who says to their parents “I do it myself!” And went out and did it.

Tickled pink doesn’t quite cover this… but it’s close! 

3 thoughts on “Fourteen

  1. Congrats on the new TV! I need to do that. I think my is about 10 years old, too. The last time I moved, a friend was like, “You know they make flat screens now, right?”

Leave a Reply

