Home » family » S is for…

S is for…

So many words, Little Buddha.  There are too many to cover all of them in these few short posts… But I’m trying to get some of the most important ones defined for you!  I know that these posts are woefully inadequate, but bear with me – we’ll have years and years where I can teach you all the ones we missed out on here!

Hang on, it’s almost over! 

S – is for Soap.  Yes, soap.  This is a MOST important word, Little Buddha… even if you don’t want to hear it! Remember when I told you what your Great-Papa taught me?  That poop washes off?  Well, soap comes in might handy about this time.  Besides, used in the right amounts?  Soap can be a LOT of fun!

You can also use it to make a handy-dandy slip-n-slide out of the kitchen floor!  Just don’t tell Mama that I told you (pssst! Dawn soap works best!)

If you get caught?  Gramma will deny all knowledge of this conversation… but I will help you clean it up!  You know, out of the soft, innocent goodness of my heart!

S – is for Silly.  Be this sometimes, too!  Life is too short to be serious all the time.

Seriously.  If you can’t get silly, and laugh at yourself, sometimes, then it’s just not worth getting out of bed in the morning!

So get yer swerve on once in a while, Little Buddha!  Give the world something to smile about!

S – is for Simple and Small.  There are many things in this life that I wish for you, Little Buddha… but I think the single most important thing – is this:

I wish for you a joy in Simple Pleasures – and a life of Small Troubles.

I hope that as you get older, you remember that most of the really important things in life come in simple packaging.  Laughter, love, friendship… a sunset, the smell of fresh, homemade cookies, a hug, holding hands as you cross the street.  Simple pleasures are often the best remembered, the longest held close to our hearts.  Don’t forget all the little things, as you grow up… they’ll be the biggest, best memories as you get older.

And the small troubles?  Well, life is full of troubles, we simply can’t get away from them all… even things as small as hangnails and bed-head can mess up your day.  But as long as you can get through the day with only small troubles, then you’re ahead of the game.  I know that you have to have some obstacles to overcome in your life, or you’ll never get anywhere… but I pray for you to have them all be small enough to in the “bite-sized” portions. 

Love you, Little Buddha.

Leave a Reply

