Home » anxiety » Funny Girl

Funny Girl

The mask is in place

That everyone sees

Happy and calm

But it’s not really me

Laugh, funny girl, laugh

It’s all a big joke

Smile at the words

So they don’t see you choke

You think too much

Just make your mind blank

Don’t worry so much

Just enjoy the prank

You see what I show you

Because you don’t look too deep

Only the surface

That way you can sleep

I’ll never admit it

I’ll never tell

The mask wears my face

While my soul sits in hell

2 thoughts on “Funny Girl

  1. You see what I show you

    Because you don’t look too deep

    Only the surface

    That way you can sleep

    This part of your poem really made me think -and that is the sign of excellent writing in my opinion! It also signifies that we put on a brave face to keep ourselves from being a ‘burden’ to our friends/families. While it is not a good thing to do, I myself am guilty of it and so are many others.

    How long did it take you to write this out of interest? I have toyed with the idea of doing some poetry myself, but I fear that it may not be my strong point when it comes to writing!

    • Poetry usually doesn’t take me long to write, as it comes from a very emotion-driven place. This took me about 10 minutes. Thank you for the nice words, it means a lot to me.

Leave a Reply

