Home » funny » Dirty Fingernails

Dirty Fingernails

I…do not have a green thumb.

They’re more of a washed-out khaki color, with tiny, green, oddly-shaped spots. 

I’ve tried the houseplant route, but I have cats. Cats are jerks, especially when it comes to houseplants. At least mine are, when they dig in the pot’s dirt and scatter it over the countertops. And they’re murderous asshats when they take a perfectly good aloe vera & turn it into a multi-holed sprinkler hose. And don’t even think about having flowers for long, as they make a tasty treat that is also a handy place for that loose fur that brushes neatly off as the cats use the petals as their back brush.

I’ve had some small successes, however.

My pumpkins are blooming!

This is the first year I’m trying this variety, which is called “Pink Peanut”, and I planted them in a raised flowerbed in front of my house, so I’m surprised & pleased that they’re doing as well as they are.

I also have a flowerbed lining my driveway.

The “weedy” looking stuff to the left is actually wild flax, which blooms in the morning, & loses its petals in the afternoon. The purple stuff is echinacea, otherwise known as purple coneflower. There are tulips in there, too, but they bloom in late May, so are hidden again for the year.

But…sadly, my skills seem to be limited to gourds & wildflowers, as here’s my other flowerbed, in which I planted my Forever Susan lilies. They did great this year, but the rest of what I tried to grow…well… Take a look.

Mostly baby weeds, and 2 – mind you, 2 little lettuce plants. *sigh* I seeded the whole rest of the flowerbed with leaf lettuce, and – alas. Not a salad in sight.

So, maybe I should try seeding this flowerbed with dandelions & call it good.

After all, you can eat the leaves in salad. And I’ve already proven I can grow weeds!

2 thoughts on “Dirty Fingernails

  1. The number one reason people’s thumbs are “black” is lack of watering. Case in point, echinacea petals and leaves don’t point downwards.

    –Professional landscaper, designer, and personal gardener

    • Actually, I water every day, in the evening after the heat fades a bit, and the sun no longer threatens to burn my plants. I don’t weed, though.

Leave a Reply

