Home » anxiety » Mercury, Sandmen and Spongebob Squarepants

Mercury, Sandmen and Spongebob Squarepants

Lost in the land of Insomnia again, I’ve been working overtime on losing ALL my marbles through the internet.

First off?  I actually did pretty well today, I said I was going to work on my novel, and I was able to kick out a whole chapter – namely, 2,405 words.  It was a great relief, being able to write again, and have the words simply come to my fingertips.  It’s been a while, and I thought I was going to hit a big wall, but it worked.  I blame the Smarties I snacked on.

(Interesting and totally pointless side note – OnlySon has always called these “Funnies”  I have no idea why, or where he got this idea, but hey, it kinda fits.)

(2nd interesting and totally pointless side note – In Canada, these are called “rockets” even though they look nothing like any rocket I’ve ever seen, and smarties are a candy-coated chocolate… sorta like an M & M – actually exactly like an M & M, except they don’t make me go MMMMM and MMMMM – Canadian neighbors?  Could you please call these things by their rightful names?  M&Ms make you go mmmmm, and Smarties are Funnies – case closed) 😉

I also spent a large chunk of time on Facebook this evening, chasing friends all over the pictures, theirs, mine, etc.  I felt like I was squirrel-herding, and the squirrels were winning.  That had to burn some calories, right?

Right.

So, in the end, I ran out of friends to post to on FB, everybody went to bed… slackers… and I had nothing useful to say here… until now, of course, so I ended up on – You Tube.

Someone please block YouTube from my computer?  I don’t have the willpower to do it, and I think I might have an addiction problem now.

I rifled through songs I wish I could still see on MTV, which should actually be called Non-Reality, Non-Music, Totally-off-the-Track TV, but I digress.

I watched Freddie Mercury singing about how “These Are The Days of our Lives” and how “The Show Must Go On” (gads, I miss him, he was a genius), and Pink told me it’s ok to be wrong in all the right ways with “Raise Your Glass”, and of course, my girl Katy Perry sang about my favorite “Firework”, while Sara Bareilles told me I’m not “King of Anything”, nor is anyone else, for that matter, and I ended up sniffling while John Lennon sang “Imagine” as Yoko opened up some curtains and stared off into space. (Why?)  Then, I went into superoverdrive. (Like I wasn’t already there)

I found old Beatles videos that flickered and jumped because they were just that bad black and white to begin with, I watched Metallica sing about “One” poor man, while Lars Ulrich played those wicked double bass drums, and then hit “Enter Sandman” for my EldestDaughter. (It was the only song that got her to stop kicking me while I was pregnant with her – still puts her to sleep 19 years later!) and I ended up, lo and behold, listening to Spongebob Squarepants sing about F.U.N. with evil superbuddyvillain, Plankton.

And now I have the song stuck in my head.

“F is for Fire that BURNS DOWN THE WHOLE TOWN”

“U is for Uranium BOMB”

N is for No SURVIIIIIVORS!”

(Yet another interesting and totally pointless side note – OnlySon used to have a Spongebob clock that sang this song.  OtherHalf broke it…by….accident – of course.)

So now, it’s 5:15 in the morning, I haven’t slept, I’m delirious, and I have Spongebob and Plankton singing about Uranium bombs in my head.

Where’s the Sandman when you really need him?

Oh, that’s right, he’s on YouTube.

10 thoughts on “Mercury, Sandmen and Spongebob Squarepants

    • I know the major causes of my insomnia, stress and anxiety, but most of the time I can at least get enough hours of sleep to make it through. It’s only the weekends which really mess me up, and I end up sitting up all night, grab 3 or 4 hours in the morning, and go all the rest of the day on half a tank of go juice. Ah well, at least it’s on the weekends, and not during work-days!

  1. Raise your glass!! Hear, hear! I totally get the whole “friends punking out” on facebook. LOL. On Fridays I am usually up well into Saturday morning, but by then all my friends have zonked.

    • LOL, and for me it’s usually Saturday nights that I’m wild-eyed and wracked up! I love Pink, she’s punk, and aggressive, and smart and funny, and has NO problem telling the truth as she sees it.

  2. Oooh, that so sounds like me. The kids are constantly singing Spongebob and every once in a while I’ll have a bomb stuck in my head too. Hope you’re able to get some rest soon.

  3. Metallica AND Spongebob Squarepants together……. How did you crack my IPOD playlist? 🙂

  4. thanks…….Sponge Bob is now stuck in my head…….”who lives in a pineapple under the sea……..” guess it’s better than getting off the ride at Disney and having “small world” stuck up there playing over and over…..

    • Yer Welcome! It’s a World of laughter, it’s a world of tears, it’s a world of hopes, and a world of fears, there’s so much that we share, that it’s time we’re aware…..

      Oh, sorry, you said you DIDN’T want that in your head… oops. 😉

Leave a comment